available RAM and stack?

Discuss the Firewing development environment

available RAM and stack?

Postby Jerry Messina » Tue Aug 20, 2013 11:33 am

Other than the device files, what determines the amount of available RAM?

When I compile using the default setup, I'm about 2K short of the max size,
which seems to be where the stack is being set (8192-6144=2048).

Is there any control over the stack size/where it's located, or is there something else going on here?
Code: Select all
device = 24HJ128GP502      ' default FW device (8K)

dim b(6144) as byte      ' max allowable data size
Jerry Messina
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:16 am

Re: available RAM and stack?

Postby David John Barker » Tue Aug 20, 2013 12:55 pm

that doesn't look right, let me check it out...
User avatar
David John Barker
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: available RAM and stack?

Postby David John Barker » Tue Aug 20, 2013 5:28 pm

I've uploaded a BETA which can be found at the bottom of this page

http://www.firewing.info/pmwiki.php?n=Firewing.Download

this should hopefully fix the stack allocation problem. Please let me know if the fix works for you...
User avatar
David John Barker
 
Posts: 491
Joined: Thu Nov 08, 2012 12:21 pm

Re: available RAM and stack?

Postby Jerry Messina » Tue Aug 20, 2013 8:09 pm

Thanks. That seems to work.

Using FW toolsuite I can now get 8192 bytes for the 24HJ128GP502 (less 64 bytes for the stack)

FWIW, using the Microchip16 toolsuite (actually C30) I can get 24512 for the 24FJ128DA110, but only about 28600 for the 24EP512GU810 (52k). I haven't bothered to look into what's conflicting w/the 24EP, but I wasn't expecting to get access to the full ram anyway.
Jerry Messina
 
Posts: 280
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 10:16 am


Return to Development Environment

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests

x